The Limits from Atlanta, GA, circa 1965. Band member, Ron Simpson later became a member of The Pieces of Eight.


L-R: Marty Welch, Mickey Erwin, Mike E\McElroy, Ronnie Simpson

The Limits (1964-1968)

Atlanta Georgia

The Limits were formed in 1964 by Ronnie Simpson and Mickey Erwin – best friends since the 5th grade.  

Mickey Erwin - lead guitar, vocals

Ronnie Simpson  - rhythm guitar, vocals

Marty Welch – bass guitar, vocals (deceased)

Mike McElroy – drums, vocal (deceased) 

Gene Griffith – keyboard, Farfisa added in 1966

All but Gene Griffith graduated from  Southwest High School in Atlanta. Gene Griffith graduated from Therrell High School.

The Limits played many GA Tech and UGA frat parties. They were also the Macy’s department store’s official “Teen Board” band traveling all the Macys department stores to perform for fashion shows.  

Ronnie Simpson later became the lead vocalist for the Pieces of Eight in the late sixties.

Simpson is owner of  RCS Productions, Fayetteville GA – a concert producer for the festival industry and was inducted into the International Festivals and Events Associations “Hall of Fame” in 2007. 

Pictures and info. contributed by Ron Simpson

Home Page Other Bands